Google “Wallet” (LOL!)

What happens when someone just cancels access to your money?

Happens all the time.  They tell me its for my security.
“I’m sorry” is about all you get.
As if it really matters that they are sorry.

You are right! I did get a really nice email apologizing for, yeah, fucking up my reality.

I understand Eric Schmidt and Google Wallet have a problem.  Its the same problem we all have, its the way the credit card/bank card/debit card business operates.  It is always done to the punishment of the cardholder/customer.  There is no customer service because even if the problem is completely on their end, the customer is the one that, well, how do you trust ANYONE to actually handle your digital currency/money access without fucking you over to cover their ass?  Even a “new player” like Google?  #smh

Ok, technically, I’m not fucked over (I’m smarter than that), yet, I’m just a single mom with money on my Google Wallet to pay for a car part I need and to pay for our daughter’s orthodontist visit in the morning.  I will not be using my Google Wallet to do that.  In fact, if this doesn’t get resolved without my needing a new card, I won’t ever have to be the one who first advertises Google Wallet where I spend my money like I usually am.

It is supposed to be my “wallet” — where I go to get the money I need to handle the day-to-day operations in my life as a mom.  It has been quite convenient for that, I must say, easy enough even a former husband can navigate it and feel cool about doing it.  To be honest, even though I still have my Wallet in my little purse — an alleged alternative to ordinary banking/money handling — my Wallet has been emptied out and now it has been cancelled and I don’t even know where my money is, except that Google has it somewhere, I am sure.

And, they want me to ask them to send me a new one?  Really?!

Is there any reasonable person on this planet that would trust them after this?

Yes, I filled out an email saying that a $3.00 parking meter charge in Los Angeles that was posted when I was at home over 100 miles away, likely wasn’t mine unless it was a posting of an older charge from the City of Los Angeles.  My physical card was not used on that day in Los Angeles, that much I did know, my Wallet was safe with me in Palm Springs.  My card was not compromised — the compromise was on the digital side on THE OTHER SIDE of the equation — the problem has yet to be with me or anything that I have done . . . and yet.  I have no access at all to any of the money in my Wallet once again.  (#strike2)

As far as I know, nothing regarding my Wallet card has been compromised as I have been using it in my usual fashion since making the dispute, and such was confirmed over the phone with the customer service rep (and with this manager who send me the email below), and you know what, I wonder why I bother.

I try and I try and I try to participate in this “Reality” and every time I do, its just wrong.  On so many levels, I think I can stomach the wrongness of it, the stupidity of it, the unfairness of it, the routine of “processes” of “Security” that provides anything but, the skewed playing fields defined in that “life” we are supposed to participate on planet earth today circa 2015 in the United States of America, and it just doesn’t work.  Not on any level.  And, just when I think it is going to work, they cancel me out of my only connection on the most mundane level.  What does that mean?

What’s sad?  The truth is PROBABLY something even more stupid, like Google Wallet’s “recovery team” didn’t even bother to really investigate the claim and what I stated happened, and they just refunded the $3.00 and cancelled my Wallet because that was “the process” and cheaper than discovering that perhaps the mischarge was just a old charge just now posting because the City of Los Angeles can be like that.  Whatever, it was clearly something that has nothing to do with me except I noticed it — no need to cancel my actual physical card and the access to my wallet (my operating account for everyday reality). And everything else, including the cancellation of access to my money and fucking up of my life, was done out of a lazy routine designed to protect someone other than me.  Sigh, more of the same.  No need to bother with that.

P.S.  Always, when dealing with stuff like this, make at least two calls on it, even though they will read what you went through before, sometimes in the discussing of the problem, a new person can give a new idea to find a different avenue to resolve the problem when a Subcontractor’s Policies are contracted to be maintained as an expected condition in their performance as an outsourced service to the company I trust with my money.  (Another place where the communication bridge is missing in modern customer service.)

I don’t know, maybe I AM the only one that thinks this is something that doesn’t work.

Hi, Customer.

Good day! How are you?

My name is Mark, one of the supervisors for the Google Wallet Team. Your concern about your cancelled wallet card was endorsed to me for further assistance. My sincere apologies for the inconvenience. I’ve took the liberty of reviewing your case and here’s what I found out. The reason why your Google wallet card has cancelled because you have filled an unauthorized dispute form. And for your account security, they need cancel your Google wallet card, to avoid any unauthorized charges.

Now Customer, I would like to explain further what the proper course to take in order for us to resolve the issue. Since that Google wallet card can’t be reactivated, we need to order a new one.

You can request your Google Wallet Card either at wallet.google.com or in your Google Wallet app.

In the app, touch the top left menu icon > Settings > Order Google Wallet Card.

At wallet.google.com, click Google Card and app in the sidebar and then the Get Your Card button.

Either way, Google Wallet will ask you to confirm your shipping address. Then select Send it to me. Google will ship your card within 10 business days! I understand that you want to get that Google wallet card soon, but we are only using standard shipping as of the moment.

(If you’d like more information about the Google Wallet Balance, please see this article on our Help Center.)

I hope that I was able to clear things out. Should there be further clarification, please feel free to reply to this email. I’ll be more than glad to assist.

Thank you again for the patience and cooperation!

If you have any more questions, please reply to this email. I’m happy to help!

Thanks,

Mark
The Google Wallet Team

One thought on “Google “Wallet” (LOL!)

  1. Pingback: Google “Wallet” (LOL!) | Niki.V.all.ways.My.way.

Leave a comment